Husqvarna Zero Turn Mower Reviews 2020

We may earn an affiliate commission when you buy through links on our site.

Editor’s Choice:

Husqvarna Z254 54 in. 26 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
31 Reviews
Husqvarna Z254 54 in. 26 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
  • 26 HP Kohler engine provides reliable startups and a max speed of 6.5 MPH

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 03:48 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

“Is there a compact riding mower that can trim my large backyard and yet be user-friendly enough to be used by everyone?”

That’s one question I get a lot from my friends!

And my answer is always the same: yes, there are mowers out there that will fit your needs like a glove.

The catch? You’ve just got to take time out to find them.

As a professional who ornaments gardens for a living, I’ve seen my neighbors using riding mowers that do not fit their lawns. And as a result, their gardens turn out unkempt and ugly.

I admit, easy-to-use compact mowers with a powerful engine are relatively hard to find, but it isn’t impossible either. And if you’re in search of one such mower but unable to find it, then Husqvarna’s mowers might just be what you need.

But, will their mowers be a perfect fit for you, as it was for me? Let’s find out.

Model
Horsepower
Deck Size
Weight
Price
 

Z254
26 HP
54 Inches
678 pounds
$$$

MZ61
27 HP
61 Inches
770 pounds
$$$$$

Z254F
23 HP
54 Inches
524 pounds
$$$

Z242F
18 HP
42 Inches
678 pounds
$$$

 

Husqvarna Z254 Reviews 2020

husqvarna z254 kawasaki reviews

When it comes to visual appeal, the Husqvarna Z254 is quite impressive. I found it to be visually very sturdy and on closer inspection and use, it turned out to be just that.

This mower is built like a tank. So if your yard has a lot of small undulating hills and bumpy surfaces, you can be assured that it will not topple over no matter what.

It has an easy to use clutch mechanism and comes equipped with one of the best airflow systems that the current market has to offer. The fan is extremely powerful in my opinion, and its improved airflow helps in significantly enhancing the mower’s durability as well.

The Husqvarna Z254 is one of the more pocket-friendly mowers out there. So, if you need a reliable and powerful mower within budget, then this might just be the right model for you.

Here are some of the fantastic features that the Husqvarna Z254 comes with.

Extremely Sturdy and Durable

Husqvarna provides this model with a reinforced cutting deck which reduces the wear damage that the cutting blades would often take during the more difficult cutting jobs.

It allows the blades to function a lot better and significantly improves the mower’s overall longevity.

Additionally, the Z254 comes with two new features which some of the other Husqvarna models don’t have: the rear engine guard and the auto parking brake system.

I noticed that the rear engine guard is quite beneficial in providing an extra layer of protection to the mower to make it much more durable. The auto parking brake, on the other hand, makes the mower safe for users whose yard have a lot of “rolling hills”.

If your foot comes off the pedal, the mower will stop automatically, hence limiting a lot of the accidents that may have been caused otherwise.

User-Friendly

Despite appearances, I found the Husqvarna Z254 to be very easy to use. It comes with an automatic choke system that makes starting the machine as effortless as possible.

This is one feature that I really like. Most of the standard mowers come with either a “string pull start system” or some other mechanism which requires a lot of user input. These systems are quite a hassle to use, and the Husqvarna Z254 quite effectively did away with them.

In terms of lawn mowing efficiency, the Z254 does quick work of any backyard condition. It has zero-turn radius capabilities which make the mower to have an effective turning radius of zero. It will allow you to mow in reverse and help you tackle the largest of lawns in a matter of hours.

The zero-turn feature makes the mower quite mobile, and you’ll be able to maneuver it across the yard quickly if there aren’t many obstacles to look out.

Improved Engine Design

The Husqvarna Z254’s engine comes with a very robust and powerful fan which is just vital for an improved mower performance. The fan draws air to the bottom of the deck, thereby providing better grass movement and ultimately giving your lawn a very even trim.

The engine also comes with an improved filtration system; it increases the airflow, reduces foliage block and allows the mower to last much longer.

I believe that a good mower is one that supports a reliable engine, and the Z254 comes with a 24 HP Briggs & Stratton V-twin endurance engine which is extremely powerful and highly fuel efficient at the same time. Briggs and Stratton’s engines are more or less the go-to standard for high-quality lawn mowers as they are both extremely reliable and sturdy.

Husqvarna Z254 54 in. 26 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
31 Reviews
Husqvarna Z254 54 in. 26 HP Kohler Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
  • 26 HP Kohler engine provides reliable startups and a max speed of 6.5 MPH

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 03:48 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What could have been better in the Husqvarna Z254?

husqvarna z254 zero turn reviewsThough an excellent mower for the price, there are certain things about the mower that I hope Husqvarna would work on:

Needs periodic maintenance

The initial issue which I noticed was with the cutting deck. Though it was comfortable and brought all the mower controls at arm’s reach, it can break down easily if there is a lot of grass and lawn debris build-up.

For the Z254, the grass build-up on the deck is rather fast. While the advanced airflow system protects the engine from foliage block, it doesn’t do the same for the cutting deck. Because of this, periodic maintenance is a must for the mower.

Lack in maneuverability

The very tank-like build of the mower grants a high level of durability, but compromises on its maneuverability. The Husqvarna Z254 will not permit you to cut horizontally on sharp slopes.

This might not seem like much of a problem for people with smaller yards with even ground structure, but it is indeed a deal breaker for those who have a terrain with a lot of slopes. And even with the zero turn feature, moving this mower around a lot of trees and obstacles can indeed be an issue.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Automatic choke system makes it very easy to start
  • The powerful fan is able to increase airflow and keep the mower durable for long
  • Zero turn feature allows quick work of long trimming jobs
  • Built to be extremely durable and sturdy
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • The cutting deck can break down quite easily
  • Doesn’t allow horizontal cuts on the sharper slopes

Husqvarna Z254F Reviews 2020

When it comes to lawn maintenance equipment, I can’t settle for anything less than a zero-turn riding mower. I was recommended to test the Husqvarna Z254F by several professionals, as it was hailed as the “best in its class.”

Although I wouldn’t label it the best, it can definitely give the industrial-grade machines a run for their money. With that being said, these are the features that make the Husqvarna model stand out from its competition.

World-Class Engine

husqvarna z254f kawasaki reviewsLike most of the Husqvarna lawnmowers, the Z254F, too, is manufactured in collaboration with Kawasaki. Consequently, you get a 23 HP 726 cc motor, which makes it easier to mow lawns without spending a lot of time. This 4-cycle OHV V-twin cycle offers you twice the usual power output, which is an overall win-win situation, considering its reasonable price.

Being the owner of a lawn care agency, I always tell people that a lawnmower with all the features would be worthless if it doesn’t have a powerful engine. So, I was happy to see that Husqvarna equipped the Z254F with a beast of an engine!

User Convenience

It’s amazing how this product manages to cut out the excessive sound levels for a quieter operation. Furthermore, it comes equipped with a set of screen guards and cast-iron cylinder liners, which enhances its durability by a great extent. Last but not least, the lightweight frame of this product also enhances its fuel economy.

Long story short, you need not worry about facing any significant inconvenience while using this lawnmower.

Build Quality

The Z254F is robust, durable and offers superior quality as it boasts of a 10 gauge all-steel construction, which raises the bar higher for optimal durability. Furthermore, its intelligent design has also minimized the typical chassis flexing issues found in lawnmowers, mainly through its rugged casters.

Moreover, the rubber mellows not only amplify its visual appeal but also prevent the control panel from unforeseen accidental damages.

Cutting Ability

Coming to the specifics of cutting, this mower features the iconic Husqvarna tri-blade setting, which is further supported by six diverse cut settings. Altogether, it delivers a significantly even cutting experience. Also, this top-notch mower gets a thumbs up for its zero-turn feature that helps in getting the job done even quicker, with utmost precision.

Husqvarna Z254F 54 in. 23 HP Kawasaki Zero Hydrostatic Turn Riding Mower
  • 23 HP Kawasaki engine provides reliable startups and a max speed of 6.5 MPH

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 00:18 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What Could’ve Been Better?

There’s a common issue with most of the Husqvarna lawn mowers that hasn’t spared the Z254F either. Yes, I’m talking about its inability to remain as efficient while being used uphill. The manufacturers recommend not to use it on slopes that are higher than 10 degrees, which gives it a significant disadvantage. Otherwise, this product doesn’t leave any room for complaint.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • 23 HP 726 cc motor
  • 10 gauge all-steel construction
  • Tri-blade setting
  • Zero-turn feature
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Can’t perform on uphill slopes

Husqvarna Z248F Review 2020

z248f reviewsMy friends often seek advice from me whenever they want to purchase a new gardening product for their precious yards. And as most of them are beginners who are new to the garden care scene, I primarily recommend products which along with being easy to use boasts fantastic performance as well.

So, when it comes to the category of high-performance, powerful yet user-friendly lawn mowers, the Husqvarna Z248F seems to top my list more often than not.

It’s a reliable lawn mowing machine that can take care of mid to large sized lawns rather comfortably without the need for constant maintenance.

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 03:48 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Why do I highly recommend the Husqvarna Z248F 26 HP 747 cc lawnmower?

To begin with, let us go over the mower’s power and the smooth operations that accompany it. Now, with a 26 HP / 724 cc Kohler 7000 Series V-Twin Engine, this Husqvarna model is as powerful as a mower can get.

It goes through tough Florida grass like it’s made of paper, and does quick work of the hardest of lawn mowing jobs no matter the surface condition.

However, with this much power, you might feel that this mower might just be quite loud and hard to handle. But in all honesty, this Husqvarna model has one of the smoothest operations I have ever had the privilege of trying out.

With a full pressure lubrication system and a reliable ready start ignition, turning the mower on and taking it out for a spin is incredibly easy and enjoyable.

The premium high-backed seat is 18-inch in height and provides the optimal lumbar support to make your trimming experience as comfortable as possible.

In terms of design and maneuverability, the mower’s Hydro Gear EZT Hydrostatic Transmission has very low maintenance even though it possesses a ton of torque. The lack of hydraulic hoses reduces the risk of leaks, while the fan-cooled 10 cc pumps and wheel motors make the Husqvarna easy to control and maneuver around tight obstacles.

Another aspect of this mower which I absolutely love is the air induction mowing tech. As the air is drawn from the top as well as the bottom of the deck, it significantly improves the grass lift and delivers a clean and accurate cut every time.

However, the Husqvarna Z248F 26 HP mower doesn’t come with adjustable grass cutting heights. Even though it has a larger cutting frame, it will help you get the job done faster with fewer passes, but it will not allow you to custom cut the grass and design your yard in whichever way you want.

Accessory support on this mower is also a bit disappointing. You can attach mulching kits to them, but the functionality on that front is rather limited.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Power engine helps the mower complete the most difficult of grass trimming tasks
  • Air induction mechanism allows for a precise trim every time
  • Easy to maneuver with smooth operations and a very comfortable deck seat
  • Highly beginner-friendly and perfect for personal as well as professional use
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Not at all a versatile machine; lacks adjustable grass cutting heights
  • Accessory support is somewhat limited

Husqvarna Z246 Reviews 2020

husqvarna z246 reviews

If all my years in the lawn care industry has taught me anything, is that when it comes to gardening tools, the competition is rather steep (especially lawn mowers).

The product will have to consistently work at the highest standards without fail, as any lapses in performance will lead to an automatic veto.

Husqvarna doesn’t joke around when it comes to their mowers.

The Z246 Kohler Confident is a beast in all respects, and it comes packed with some of the best features that the market has to offer.

Durability and Performance

For me, the Z246 is one of the more reliable models in the market, and it’s all thanks to the “reinforced steel cutting deck”. This is one of the major reasons why I like taking the Z246 to some of my difficult lawn jobs.

The cutting deck is equipped with “heavy flat-stock steel” which guarantees both durability and cutting strength. The Kohler engine, on the other hand, is maintenance free and comes with the latest in air induction technology.

This promises a superior cutting capability no matter the job, and as air is being drawn from the bottom and top of the deck, it allows the mower to have improved grass lift as well.

Ease of Use

I am not a big fan of riding mowers which boast amazing cutting potential but is not convenient or comfortable to use. And I have no complaints towards the Z246 in this regard.

The deck has a perfect lift and comes with a spring assist system making it easy to use and comfortable to sit on.

The control panel is quite ergonomic as well, and I didn’t have to struggle at all while using it. The panel is designed in such a way that it brings all the mower controls at my very fingertips, making for a hassle-free and enjoyable mowing experience.

For reduced chassis flex and deck durability, the mower is also designed to be fitted with casters along with a sturdy frame. I won’t be exaggerating if I said that the Z246 is built like a tank, and it traverses over rugged lawn conditions with relative ease when compared to most of its competition.

The chassis has a very unique tube-like design and will be able to provide you with removable foot pans. I found this to be quite convenient if I ever needed to have easy access to the deck’s upper part.

Cutting Versatility

The one-of-a-kind cutting ability of the Husqvarna Z246 mower is all about maximizing your output and making quick work of the most difficult of lawn jobs.

It has three cutting methods of mulch, rear bag and side discharge, which is popularly known as the “3 in 1” feature.

The grass cutting sizes can be easily adjusted as well. So if you have a backyard with a lot of overgrown grass and weed, then don’t worry as the Z246 has got it covered.

Moreover, the mower is an amazing workhorse and can effortlessly go through 2.4 acres well under an hour.

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 03:48 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What about the Husqvarna Z246 that could have been better?

Even though the Husqvarna Z246 23HP 747 cc Z-Turn Mower is just fantastic when it comes to its grass cutting prowess, there were still a few things about it that I didn’t like:

  • For a riding zero-turn mower, the Z246 boasts an amazing amount of power and longevity. However, I found the mower to be quite hard to handle on wet slopes as it tended to tear up the lawn if I wasn’t attentive.
  • Maneuvering the mower in a smaller lawn or a lawn filled with a lot of trees is difficult as well. So if you have a yard densely populated with foliage, then this may not be the right zero turn mower for you.

Some Questions I get asked

Can I use the mower to cut in reverse?

Of course! But be careful of ground obstacles when doing so. And as the mower is a very powerful machine you might run the risk of tearing up your yard as well. So, be attentive when planning to use the mower in reverse.

Does it come with a mulch bag?

No, it doesn’t. For the mower’s bagger system, you will have to buy the parts separately.

What is the cutting height I can get with the mower?

The cutting height of the mower is variable, with a minimum of 1.5 inches and a maximum of 4 inches with a cutting width of 46 inches.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Extremely durable body and design
  • Comes with a powerful zero maintenance engine
  • Advanced air induction technology for superior grass lift
  • 3 in 1 cutting features with mulching capabilities
  • Ergonomic panel features
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Needs a lot of practice on it to properly cut on wet soil
  • Hard to maneuver

Husqvarna Z242F Reviews 2020

I am thrilled to introduce you to the Z242F from Husqvarna, and this riding mower from their stable is one of the best I’ve ever come across. Don’t believe me? Well, take a look below and decide for yourself.

Powerhouse Engine

husqvarna z242f kawasaki reviewsAs my readers already know, I have a thing for engines when it comes to lawnmowers. After all, it’s the engine that makes the mower do what it does.

And in the Z242F, I have found one of the most powerful engines ever. With 18 HP under the hood, this top-notch Kawasaki engine provides unfailing reliability. Add to that a max speed of 6.5 MPH, and you’ve got a ride that can get the job done fast.

Low-Maintenance Product

One of the biggest roadblocks to the prolonged use of gardening equipment is maintenance. Without proper maintenance, even the best of devices can give out on you. This is what my experience as a gardening professional has taught me.

So imagine my surprise when I got my hands on this mower. The hydrostatic transmission makes sure that you don’t have to worry about heavy maintenance. This also allows the mower to be used under a variety of cutting conditions and adds to its versatility.

Safety First

God forbid, but I’ve known a few friends who’ve been in small accidents involving runaway mowers. Nothing serious, of course, but I feel when it comes to gardening equipment, safety should be the topmost priority of yours.

That’s why the Z242F sports an exclusive (patent-pending) braking system that automatically activates and deactivates with the steering levers. This provides the driver with complete control over the vehicle. And I have to admit, the braking mechanism of this beauty has me floored!

Superior Performance

To top it all off, this is a mower that enables you to do anything you want with the clippings. They can be discharged, mulched or bagged, as per your choice. The ClearCut deck sports a deep cut design, and this provides for better cutting and bagging.

Excellent in terms of airflow, with high-performance blades and a sturdy build, this product is for the keeps. Add to that the ergonomic control panel and anti-slip foot area, and you’ve got an intuitive mower that makes the job hassle-free and fun.

Sale
Husqvarna Z242F 42 in. 18 HP Kawasaki Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
  • 18 HP Kawasaki engine provides reliable startups and a max speed of 6.5 MPH

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 00:18 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What Could’ve Been Better?

I am not known to be a thrifty man, but even I must say that the price tag on this product is rather high. This makes it well outside the reach of the average gardeners looking to take care of their lawns. Plus, it’s only available in one color, which somewhat limits the choice.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Powerful Kawasaki engine
  • Advanced safety features
  • Requires low maintenance
  • Ergonomic control panel
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • High price tag
  • Available in only one color

Husqvarna MZ61 Reviews 2020

husqvarna mz61 kawasaki reviewsI’ve been using the Husqvarna MZ61 for some time now, and I must say, it has yet to fail in getting the job done.

To be able to exploit its merits thoroughly, I recently took on an assignment of trimming the public park. To my delight, the MZ61 made the job smooth and effortless. Let’s take a closer look as to why was that the case.

Got the job done surprisingly fast

Breezing through 2.5 acres spread in under 50 minutes is not an easy feat for any mower to accomplish. But the MZ61 did just that and more, all thanks to the robust Briggs and Stratton engine built into it.

Briggs and Stratton are famous for making engines that are both powerful and dependable. The MZ61’s 27 HP Endurance V-Twin engine is no exception to that fact. And what really puts a smile on my face, is the sound the engine makes every time I start the mower. But well, you see, that’s just the thing, there is no sound. For an engine this powerful it’s amazingly quiet.

You don’t have to worry about disturbing your neighbors, the same way I didn’t upset the people trying to relax in the park.

Another interesting feature the mower has which made trimming even faster was the large 61 inches cutting deck. Made of high quality fabricated steel, the deck has 3 powerful and robust blades that not only cut the trimming time in half but also increased the accuracy of each cut.

The MZ61 moves the way you want it to

Maneuverability was vital when it came to trimming the park. Neither was the park’s surface wholly flat nor was it free of static obstacles like ponds and trees.

But luckily, this is where the mower’s hydraulic gear transmission kicked in. It gave me complete control and the much-needed power to mow all kinds of surfaces with ease.

Additionally, the zero turn mechanism allowed me to control each wheel individually and zoom around those static obstacles like it was nothing.

Easy on the eyes and easy to use

The Husqvarna MZ61’s attractive, compact build is amazingly easy to use, which not only makes it ideal for professionals but for homeowners as well.

A major complaint that customers have for most riding mowers is how increasingly difficult it gets to start them after a few days of use. But that was not the case for the MZ61; it comes with a chokeless start that immediately gets the engine roaring as soon as I put in the keys.

And as an added safety feature, Husqvarna made the mower in such a way that you’ll not be able to start it unless you are seated on the machine. On the other hand, the mower will stop as soon as you get up.

Comfortable and Customisable

Sitting for a long time can get very uncomfortable for the back. And mowing is one profession where you have to be seated for extended periods.

But while I was attending the park through the majority of one afternoon, I felt no discomfort or added exhaustion. The mower’s high back seat held my back comfortably in place, and the armrests let me access the levers while my arms were still rested.

Additionally, as an individual preference, I really like to mulch from time to time. The model allowed me to collect or mulch the grass clippings as I saw fit.

Husqvarna MZ61 61 in. 27 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
14 Reviews
Husqvarna MZ61 61 in. 27 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
  • Husqvarna 61 in. zero-turn lawn mower from the MZ series delivers commercial-grade power and amazing ergonomics

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 03:48 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

Things I would like changed in the Husqvarna MZ61 27 HP Zero Turn Mower

Like most gardening tools, the MZ61 too was not free of flaws. I found a few areas in which I believe Husqvarna should improve on.

  • For a mower of this category, the MZ61 felt very expensive. It might just be unaffordable for most homeowners in the suburbs.
  • Due to the zero turn system, I found that the MZ61 compromised on the traction for extra mobility. It was impossible for me to trim the wet marshy patches near the ponds.

Frequently asked questions

Does the MZ61 allow bagging storage?

From mulching to collecting the grass in a bag, you can do whatever you please with this fantastic mower.

Will this mower suite my large trellis garden?

This product is powerful enough to traverse the biggest of backyards. The great transmission and zero turn mobility will allow you to avoid the flower beds as you trim your garden.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Powerful engine suited for large fields above 2 acres
  • You can mulch or collect
  • Comfortable seats and armrests
  • Highly maneuverable
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Somewhat expensive for the average customer
  • Zero turn feature sacrifices traction for mobility

Husqvarna MZ54 Reviews 2020

Robust Engine

husqvarna mz54 kawasaki reviewsAs it’s my habit, I need to talk about the engine first; and in the MZ54’s case, it’s yet another beast from the house of Husqvarna we’re talking about.

For a lawnmower, I was amazed to find such a powerful engine under the hood. With a 25 HP, 747 cc Kohler engine, its power cannot be denied. The ability to produce a high enough torque is the reason behind this mower’s power.

With this unit at your disposal, you’re not going to experience the slightest hiccup in mowing any kind of grass. The engine supplies sufficient power to the cutting blades to slice through even the toughest of growth. So, whether you’re looking to use it in a commercial setting or a domestic environment, you’re guaranteed to get impeccable performance.

Comfortable Steering

The next characteristic of this mower that has me impressed is the highly fluid and comfortable steering arrangement. The control bars on this machine are adjustable according to the driver’s preferences, and the foam-padded hand grips are a bonus.

Coming to the seat, I was glad to find a well-padded, high-backed arrangement that comes with a standard armrest. This provides for a fatigue-free mowing experience. What’s more, the seat is height adjustable, which adds to the comfort factor.

Smart Performance

The larger wheels of the MX54 promise a bump-free ride and allows me to use the device for prolonged mowing activity. Also, they contribute to evenly distributing the weight across the structural components to guarantee a stable and smooth performance.

I was particularly floored to find the easy-to-use controls; they add to the unmatched maneuverability of the product. I’ll admit it takes a bit of getting used to initially, but once you get the hang of it, there’s no turning back.

Quality Of Cuts

At the end of the day, the only thing that a mower comes down to is grass-cutting quality. Thankfully, this is where the MZ54 scores brilliantly. This device is specifically designed to provide professional cuts that dazzle in their precision.

Due to the air-induction technology, the grass-lift is improved manifold. This results in a superior cut that exceeds all expectations. Owing to the presence of a 54-inch cutting deck, it can clear a larger area of grass, thus saving on time as well as fuel.

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 00:18 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What Could’ve Been Better?

Performance-wise, there’s nothing that can be better in the MZ54 than what already is. But two points of concern did stand out to me, and I’d like to share them with you.

The first is regarding the engine. Despite the rather sturdy build, the engine-oil draining mechanism on this device is a little complicated. The second point is that it is not suitable for hilly landscapes, thus limiting its ability somewhat.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Powerful 25 HP engine
  • Easy to use controls
  • Superb cutting ability
  • Larger coverage area
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Not suitable for hilly areas
  • Complicated engine-oil draining mechanism

Husqvarna MZ48 Reviews 2020

Husqvarna has established itself as a brand that’s hard to beat when it comes to garden machinery. Its products are perfect for heavy-duty tasks and are built to last. The MZ48 riding lawnmower from the brand upholds its core ethic and proves to be one of the best in the market.

Powerhouse Engine

husqvarna mz48 reviewsI am a firm believer in the fact that the engine can make or break a lawnmower. All the features fail to impress if the engine is not in place.

The Husqvarna MZ48 outshines all the rest here; its engine is beyond powerful! The 23 HP Kohler engine is a reliable companion on the toughest grass and with a maximum speed of 8.5 MPH, it ensures only the very best for your lawn.

Superior Cutting

As a gardening professional, I am well aware of the pains of a blunt cutting deck, but when it comes to the MZ48, you can keep those concerns on the backburner. The ClearCut deck boasts of a 48-inch blade that ensures smooth and fast cutting, while the deep deck design offers improved bagging.

Additionally, the advanced cutting deck also ensures proper airflow, and what you get is a lush lawn trimmed to precision.

Operational Efficiency

Possibly, the most tiring aspect of mowing is clearing up the mowed grass itself. After years of being in the business, I still cannot get myself to show any enthusiasm for it. So you can imagine my relief when I found that the MZ48 completely eliminates that hassle from the mowing experience!

The high point in its operational efficiency is that the grass clippings may be mulched or bagged with a 90-bushel triple bag collection system. Although the attachment and mulching kits are sold separately, how many riding mowers come with these added functions?

User Comfort

The MZ48 from Husqvarna is my go-to choice when it comes to comfort. This is probably the only mower that allows me to mow with Simon and Garfunkel plugged in!

Fitted with high-back seats, armrests, and foam-padded hand grips, this rider makes mowing a thoroughly relaxing experience for hours on end.

Ergonomic Design

Speaking of comfort, the MZ48 is also designed in a way that combines efficiency with relaxation. The deck lifting system allows for height adjustments on the cutting deck, which evidently lead to greater versatility. What’s more, you can make these adjustments from the control deck right beside you.

Husqvarna MZ48 48 in. 23 HP Kohler V-Twin Hydrostatic Zero Turn Riding Mower
  • 23 HP Kohler engine provides reliable startups and a max speed of 8.5 MPH

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 00:18 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What Could Have Been Better?

As a passionate landscapist, I’m more than willing to shell out a few extra dollars on any worthy equipment. However, the MZ48 is quite an expense. It’s not a feasible option for the average gardener with a meager budget, even if the features compensate for the price tag.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • High operational efficiency
  • Powerful Kohler engine
  • Ergonomic control panel
  • Impressive user comfort
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Expensive

Redmax Zero Turn Reviews 2020

redmax riding mower reviewsFirst things first, I fell in love with the Husqvarna RedMax at first glance because of its sleek futuristic design, amplified with a subtle red-black color scheme. Husqvarna is a total pro when it comes to complying with industrial-grade models while designing power tools.

However, keeping its appearance and rich brand history aside, this product comes packed with some breakthrough features that set it apart from the regular riding mowers in the industry.

World-Class Motor Engineering

Starting the list with its main attraction, this product is built in collaboration with Kawasaki Motors. As a result, you get one of the most agile 24 HP motors in the lawnmower market, which takes on the harshest of grass cutting jobs with ease.

Furthermore, it’s incredible how the manufacturers have featured both air/oil-cooled mechanisms to prevent motor overheating issues, extending its life by a fair deal.

What makes this Husqvarna lawn mower even better is its reasonable price range. It is safe to say that it is one of the best budget-friendly options that will surely give you the most bang for your buck!

Smooth Cutting Performance

Typically, compact riding mowers take quite some time to cut through large properties evenly. However, the wide-body commercial frame of this product gives it a cutting width of 54 inches. It helps the machine service large-scale yards or lawns under a shorter period.

Moreover, it features different cutting and clipping distribution styles, which let you customize the mowing session as per your convenience. On top of that, the RedMax features a tri-blade setting that guarantees even and precise cuts. As a bonus, you also get a 10-gauge steel cutting deck for higher convenience. Overall, the cutting performance it offers is second to none.

User-Centric Design

It’s rather amusing that despite being a professional-grade product, the RedMax still comes off to be extremely user-friendly. For starters, it’s effortless to operate and calls for low maintenance, which sounds like the best value to me.

Furthermore, its electric clutch system gives it the upper hand over most of the riding mowers in the market. Last but not least, its 18-inch high back seat can be adjusted accordingly to prevent any spinal pain.

I found its seat adjustment feature to be a major blessing, especially when I had to put in long hours of mowing work at the end of the monsoon season.

Husqvarna New RedMax RZT54 54" Deck Riding Zero-Turn Mower with 24Hp Kawasaki Engine
  • Easy to service, easy to operate and designed for the long haul, the RZT provides satisfaction year after year.

Last updated on 2020-09-19 at 00:18 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

What Could’ve Been Better?

Although its wide-body can be advantageous on the field, it can be quite troublesome when it comes to storage. If you have little to no space in your garage, it’s better that you keep searching for a more compact machine. Apart from that, the RedMax is a steal of a deal when it comes to powerful lawnmowers.

thumbs-up-icon
Pros
  • Air/oil cooling to prevent overheating
  • A cutting width of 54 inches
  • Electric clutch system
  • 18-inch high adjustable back seat
thumbs-down-icon
Cons
  • Requires considerable storage space
Model
Horsepower
Deck Size
Weight
Price
 

Z254
26 HP
54 Inches
678 pounds
$$$

MZ61
27 HP
61 Inches
770 pounds
$$$$$

Z254F
23 HP
54 Inches
524 pounds
$$$

Z242F
18 HP
42 Inches
678 pounds
$$$

 

Is it worth buying?

Husqvarna’s mowers might be expensive when compared to the rest of its competition. But Husqvarna goes a step further in keeping their customers satisfied. And for that alone and the fantastic user experience I got, I would recommend their mowers to any professional or homeowner.

If you take mowing the lawn as seriously as I do, it would be worth taking a look even if you aren’t exactly raring to make the purchase.

Thanks for reading my Husqvarna zero turn mower reviews. Till next time!

Can’t make up your mind yet? Read our buying guide for zero turn mowers before you proceed with your purchase.

You should also check out our reviews of other models: